Author |
Message |
Registered: June 3, 2007 | Posts: 706 |
| Posted: | | | | HTC sync is a program for HTC devices that allows you to sync contacts and back up info, really you just need the phones usb drivers, the installer will install the adb stuff and it should work from there.
-Robert |
|
Registered: March 16, 2007 | Posts: 136 |
| Posted: | | | | Hi Folks, Thank you to all of you defending my work. As I told you, I made it in my free time and distribute it freely. I have not enough money toi buy many devices of different brands to check compatibilites, and I don't own a tablet. Also note that I had very few (3) feedback from alpha for the PC plugin version. I must admit that I released it very late, and maybe I should have waited more before releasing it. I wanted to give you this as gift for Xmas. Now I'm counting on the commiunity to help me and other users to make it work on all devices. It works fine on my system, and it it works with other people's system, thats fine. For the people for which it does not work, I'm sorry. I'm new to android (I have a device for only 4 month), and it's the first app I'm writing for android. The android application is working fine so far, event if there are some improvements to to and new functionalities to develop. The main problem is the connection between PC & Device. Next week, I'll try to work on a copy when the device is connected as usb storage. I know some devices are incompatible with this mode, that's why I preferred to try the actual sync method. Also, when the device is in usb mode, the sd card cannot be accessed by android apps, so you could not run droid_dvdp when connected this way. I will also write a tool on the plugin so I'll can debug the connections and launching adb commands and get a log from users. For those having sync problems, copy the files manually (there are some hints in some previous posts). I wish you a Merry Christmas, and if you drink, please don't d(r)ive |
|
Registered: March 16, 2007 | Posts: 136 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Staid S Barr: Quote: Tried to install this on a Galaxy Tab. Installation of the apk and the plugin appear to be okay, but the plugin does not find the Android device to start the sync process. Tried through Wifi and USB. Am I missing something?
Note: there is another app on these forums called My Movies. It has very little functionality, but the export through an xml file works flawless. I first also used an xml file, but it take long time to import on the devices (more that 5 minutes for 600 profiles), and the problem is the same : trnasferring the xml on the device. |
|
Registered: May 9, 2007 | Posts: 1,536 |
| Posted: | | | | Just spent most of a day to transfer the needed (and more) image files to the Android device. However, worth the effort, since now I can test the app on a tablet, and it looks good!
In the "Covers" mode, the images overlap partially (left/right). I am not sure if this is intentional, but it works. I think the app looks best in Portrait mode (not surprisingly), and in Landscape mode there would be room to show front and back cover next to each other in the profile.
But altogether, I don't think a lot needs to be done to accommodate tablets. If you have ideas for additional functionality for the app, I would focus on that first. I'm thinking of a search function, or collections. Also, the credits in TV series with episodes could be handled differently.
And there is an unnecessary "empty" message if the number of cast/crew in a particular profile is less than the maximum allowed amount for synching, but still larger than zero.
Thanks for a great effort, and showing Invelos that it can be done, and in less than three years. | | | Hans |
|
Registered: May 9, 2007 | Posts: 1,536 |
| Posted: | | | | There is one section in the app with strange results, and that is crew. Many of the crew "roles" appear to be random, like OMB or Film Editor in the Sound or Cinematography sections and Directors are all over the place. Sometimes even crew names get in the function slot. | | | Hans |
|
Registered: June 3, 2007 | Posts: 706 |
| Posted: | | | | Ok here is a little windows bat file that Olivier made for when we were using the xml files. Thisis how I was getting covers to to sync when it was broken : DVDP-RobocopyOpen the file in notepad and read the rem lines, just need to make sure drive letters and paths are kosher and it will copy all the images over for you, This will also do a nice job just coping new or updated image files over to the device later if you are having some issues with the sync. If you can get everything to run ok, the DB file will be in your C:\Users\<username>\Documents\Droid_DVDP That needs to be copied to the SD card storage area the app makes on your android device /sdcard/Droid_DVDP/database then you should be set if you are having device issues. We knew bout some tablet issues but Olivier wanted to get the app out for the holidays, there are a few easy things a user can do to get around any of these issues. I will try to help out as much as I can with general support stuff. I broke this several times while testing :D Right now I am off to work i'll try to check in but working retail today, so might not get any free time today. -Robert |
|
Registered: March 16, 2007 | Posts: 136 |
| Posted: | | | | Thank you Robert for help me. I haven't much time as I am the cooker tonight You'll get new on monday. Sorry. Olivier. |
|
Registered: April 6, 2007 | Posts: 464 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting RobAGD: Quote: Ok here is a little windows bat file that Olivier made for when we were using the xml files. Thisis how I was getting covers to to sync when it was broken :
DVDP-Robocopy t Thanks Robert! One thing: with USB cable or via WiFi? Or will either work? Between all of us, we'll beat this program into submission yet (literally!) ! Dave |
|
Registered: June 3, 2007 | Posts: 706 |
| Posted: | | | | Right now everything is by cable.
-R |
|
Registered: May 9, 2007 | Posts: 1,536 |
| Posted: | | | | The Robocopy batch file dates from the .xml period and will need to be updated, but the idea is clear.
It does help only if you can make your Android device appear with a drive letter. Fortunately, other ways of connecting also work, but then you may miss the convenience of only updating changed or new image files. | | | Hans |
|
Registered: June 3, 2007 | Posts: 706 |
| Posted: | | | | Staid - I did a little update to the robocopy file, I dont use it for the db file, I only used it for the images, but it should also work now for moving the .db file as well as the images.
-R |
|
Registered: May 9, 2007 | Posts: 1,536 |
| Posted: | | | | Thanks. I am not using this, but it may help avoid confusion for future users. | | | Hans |
|
Registered: June 3, 2007 | Posts: 706 |
| Posted: | | | | Ok, there are a few things going on with some devices and Droid_DVDP and these are getting worked around them. The Robocopy.bat file I posted contains : [code]rem THIS SHOULD BE THE LETTER OF YOUR DEVICE WHEN MOUNTED AS A DISK set dev=j rem THIS MUST BE THE PATH OF YOUR INVELOS DATABASE IMAGE set db=C:\Users\Robert\Documents\DVD Profiler\Databases\Default\Images rem create the directory if not exist "%dev%:\droid_dvdp\NUL" mkdir "%dev%:\droid_dvdp\database\" copy "C:\Users\Robert\Documents\Droid_DVDP\droid_dvdp.db" "%dev%:\droid_dvdp\collection.xml" robocopy "%db%" "%dev%:\droid_dvdp\images" /MIR pause [/code]Staid S Barr modified it for his Galaxy Tab that seems to be coming up as a sym link under his my computer directory on his C:\ [code]code removed until a proper fix can be figured out [/code]What he was seeing as the device came up like this : So here are some examples from my system : Typical to windows Vista/Win7 and if you click in the address bar you will ( or should be ) given the actual device location : So if you are having problem just need to figure out where you system is stuff your device, and edit the bat file to point to that location. grabbing screen shots will be very helpfull in figuring out any issues you are having. -Robert | | | Last edited: by RobAGD |
|
Registered: May 9, 2007 | Posts: 1,536 |
| Posted: | | | | A modification may be required above in the "if not exist" lines, and that is to remove the ":" in case the "dev" does not point to a drive letter. In most cases, the required directory will exist and this error will be ignored. | | | Hans |
|
Registered: March 16, 2007 | Posts: 136 |
| Posted: | | | | Thank you for helping guys. Unfortunately, I forgot my portable hard disk home, so I won't make any change today at lunch. Please also note that I received Batman Arkham City, and I think the project will not advance at home Tomorrow, I'll add some debug for adb to check why it hangs with some devices. I'm not sure how to fix the tablet display as I have no tablet -Santa didn't bring me one . As I said before, I'll try to download emultator config for a tablet. Also, I'm not very sure how does android manage the portait/landscape resize of the layout. In other words, I'll do my best to solve the sync and layout problems before going further. Regards, Olivier. |
|
Registered: May 9, 2007 | Posts: 1,536 |
| Posted: | | | | Don't worry too much about the display on tablets, it is a minor issue in my opinion. Even switching landscape/portrait looks good, and at least you are using the full screen and not just a window.
Syncing is a more serious issue, but there are workarounds, even if they are not so convenient.
Hans | | | Hans |
|